Local Land Services announce elected Walcha board members

Ross King

Ross King

Tim Norton and Ross King of Walcha have been reelected to the Northern Tablelands Local Land Services (LLS) board, LLS chair Richard Bull announced last Thursday, along with the names of 32 other people who have been elected as members on the 11 local boards across NSW.

Maria Woods

Maria Woods

“The locally elected board members will work with the appointed chairs and board members to focus on the strategic direction of the organisation, promote the services offered, encourage partnerships and build strong relationships with investors while also communicating the priorities and concerns of customers,” Mr Bull said.

“I am now looking forward to working with a new group of chairs and board members.”

Tim Norton

Tim Norton

The 34 elected board members will join 44 people who were appointed by the Minister for Primary Industry, Niall Blair, earlier this year, including former Walcha councillor Maria Woods.

They include six women and 18 board members who were elected to local boards in the first LLS elections in 2014.

"I congratulate all of the candidates on their election and welcome their input to the strategic direction of the organisation,” Mr Bull said.

“They have put up their hands to serve and provide leadership in their regions and will be a voice for the view of our customers and other stakeholders.”

One hundred candidates nominated for positions across the 11 regions.

Mr Bull said the engagement of an external contractor ensured a streamlined and transparent process as Local Land Services was not the returning officer, as it was for the initial election process in 2014.

The LLS was launched in January 2014 to deliver services to farmers, landholders and the community across rural and regional New South Wales.

I am now looking forward to working with a new group of chairs and board members.

LLS chair Richard Bull

It brings together agricultural production advice, biosecurity, natural resource management and emergency management into a single organisation.

The elected board members listed below will take up their positions immediately.

Central Tablelands -Wendy Bowman (Cargo), John Lowe (Lowther), Howard Sinclair (Newbridge);

Central West- Jenny Bradley (Armatree), Chris Sweeney (Forbes) Donald Scheib (Coonamble);

Greater Sydney- Tally Matthews (Ebenezer), Peter Trahar (Bilpin), Matthew Collins (Cobbitty);

Hunter- Deborah Willis (Landsdowne), Ron Campbell (Merriwa), Art Brown (Crawford River);

Murray- Colin Bull (Conargo), Ken Crossley (Deniliquin), Norm McAllister (Deniliquin);

North Coast- Neil Summerville (Sextonville), Thomas Amey (Simpkins Creek, Casino), Trevor Wilson (Dyraaba);

North West- Geoffrey Cruikshank (Moree), Keith Harris (Warral), Annie McMahon (Nowley);

Northern Tablelands- Ross King (Walcha), David Worsely (Nullamanna), Tim Norton (Walcha).

Riverina- John Davey (Ariah Park), Helen Dalton (Binya), Paul Funnell (Collingullie). 

South East- Stuart Burge (Numeralla), George Merriman (Boorowa), Mac Wilson (Grabben Gullen). 

Western- Neill Leigo (White Cliffs), Andrew Mosley (Cobar), Robert Wason (Brewarrina), Kate McBride (Wentworth).